This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

[Solved] some Clients always "offline"

Topics: Misc.
Jul 10, 2014 at 11:27 AM
Hello

I'm new to WsusPP.
Some of my Wsus-Clients (Win7 x64, Win Server 2008R2, Win Server 2012R2) are always marked as offline, which is definitly not true.
From console on Wsus-Server I can ping the clients, but if I try to send an "Detect now" it fails with "no ping".
Windows Firewall is off at server and client.
Wsus is a Windows Server 2012R2.

Any ideas why? How to bring my clients "online"?

Thanks.
Coordinator
Jul 10, 2014 at 5:44 PM
Hi, most likely, it is a problem of IPV4/IPV6 address.
When you ping a remote machine by its name, does the name resolved into an IPV4 address or an IPV6 address ?
Have a look into Options -> Settings -> Misc.
Marked as answer by rkauskh on 7/10/2014 at 2:13 PM
Jul 10, 2014 at 10:13 PM
Hello

The name is always resolved in an IPv4-Address. IPv6 is disabled in our complete network, cause of an issue in another application. Options --> Settings --> Misc is set to Always IPv4.
I think I found the solution. Windows sets on some clients the registry entrys "Domain" and "NV Domain" in HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\Tcpip\Prameters. Empty the value of these keys, flush DNS cache und start a "Report now" on the client solved it.

Thank you pushing me in the right direction. :-)
Editor
Jul 12, 2014 at 4:14 PM
rkauskh wrote:
I think I found the solution. Windows sets on some clients the registry entrys "Domain" and "NV Domain" in HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\Tcpip\Prameters. Empty the value of these keys, flush DNS cache und start a "Report now" on the client solved it.
Thanks for posting your solution. Could you pls post again what you EXACT delete?

Thanks. ;)
Jul 13, 2014 at 12:54 PM
Hello

Of Course I can. :-)
Some words to how this situation is possible.