Deploying Firefox

Topics: Publishing Issue
Jan 15, 2015 at 8:13 PM
I am new to WSUS Package Publisher, so bear with me. I have managed to deploy Flash Player Activex msi file, so I know that the deployment process works properly.

However, I cannot work out how to publish Firefox.exe. I don't know if the problem is because its an exe file or if there is some other issue. I configured the rule to check if c:\program files\mozilla firefox\firefox.exe is less than version 35.0 which is the latest version for the check if previously installed rule.

According to the windowsupdatelog on the client machine its showing as no updates available. On the server end, there are no pending updates!

I have tried removing the rule, no change.

I have tried using -ms (which was the last known command syntax for silently installing Firefox, however I don't know if that still works). Still no joy - windowsupdatelog still shows as no updates available!

Do I need to create a rule in the second rule where it determines whether the update can be installed for that operating system. I did not put anything in there as Firefox will be deployed for all systems.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you.
Coordinator
Jan 15, 2015 at 8:42 PM
What do you have set exactly as "IsInstalled" and "IsInstallable" rules ?
How computers report for this package (Installed, not installed or not applicable) ?
Jan 17, 2015 at 1:16 PM
I have managed to get further. The client now recognises that there is a firefox update. I had to change the settings in IsInstalled to look for program files and then the path underneath. This seemed to work! So I may have mistyped the path to the firefox executable or something.