How to have client detect whether update is needed

Topics: Configuration Issue
Aug 17, 2015 at 1:44 AM
Hello, I am new to WPP. I have successfully published Adobe Flash from an MSI and it does install successfully on workstations thru WSUS. My problem is that it also shows up on workstations that have a higher version already installed and thus the update fails. How do I add a rule to tell the client not to download/install the update if it has a newer version?
Coordinator
Aug 17, 2015 at 9:48 AM
Hello, you can make an "IsInstallable" rule based on this registry Key :
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Macromedia\FlashPlayerActiveX
and value : Version
Aug 17, 2015 at 6:47 PM
Edited Aug 17, 2015 at 7:51 PM
Thank you.
So on the Rule Type I select Registry Key Exists and put that registry key in. There is a Registry Value Exists but how would I specify that any version below the version I want to install so it would update anyone who has Flash installed at any lower value?

OK I think I have it - RegSZtoVersion rule!
Editor
Aug 17, 2015 at 11:36 PM
You can use the Flash catalog, it does have all the necessary rules but only applies to already installed "older" versions. So if you want to deploy new packages, you can deploy a base package with a rule like mentioned before and deploy the updates with the Flash catalog.

Regards
Norbert
Aug 21, 2015 at 4:12 AM
Hi Sorry to Hijack this but I'm having the same issue. Loving WPP by the way, its going to save us lots of time!